DHCA Alumni Spotlight

Ashley dmp-18My name is Ashley Holmes, and I graduated from Decatur Heritage in 2009. After graduating high school, I attended the University of Mobile. There I earned a B.S. in Communication with a minor in Vocal Performance, and graduated in May 2013.

Although my high school years were filled with personal challenges, I’m thankful for the impact that being a student at Decatur Heritage had on my life. Having teachers that genuinely cared about my life and my future really helped me succeed in college, and are still impacting me even now in my post-grad years. Mrs. Holland helped instill in me a love for writing and story telling, which ultimately led to my choice of a major for college. Mr. Holiday taught me so much about Biblical history and Theology, while also challenging me in my own spiritual walk as well. Coach Cochran was always a constant encouragement to me both on and off the court, and he taught me so much about what it means to have true character.

Since graduating from DHCA, The Lord has blessed me with many incredible opportunities. In 2010, I traveled with a team of 6 other students from UM to Toronto, Canada to learn hands-on what it looks like to plant a church in a major metro city. During all 4 years of college, I served on our university’s Campus Activities Board (CAB) where I was able to help plan and execute many events for our students, including concerts with artists such as NeedtoBreathe, Kari Jobe, Matt Wertz, Ben Rector, and Mutemath. I’ve had many opportunities to strengthen my skills in my career field, including internships with the Rick & Bubba Show, The Wally Show, and UM’s Department of Media Relations. I’ve also had the privilege of being published in several news publications, including the Alabama Baptist and al.com.

Life for me right now is incredibly busy and hectic, but I love every minute of it! I’m currently serving in my second summer with FUGEcamps, and am getting to spend the summer leading students in Bible study, as well as in mission projects all over the city of Nashville. The Lord has used numerous experiences in my life to develop in me a heart for serving and loving students, and I’m so grateful for a job that allows me to do just that!

I’m forever grateful for the journey I’ve experienced so far in life and am looking forward to whatever God has in store for me next! In the words of Dr. B.B. McKinney, “Wherever He leads, I’ll go!”